Connect with us


Vancouver Canucks Annual Player Awards: And The Winners Are!

Who won this seasons Canucks players awards?

Featured Video Play Icon

Now that the regular season is officially over, it’s time for NHL teams to announce their annual awards. And, the Vancouver Canucks are no different. Today, the team announced its player awards for the 2019-20 season.

These awards were voted on by Canucks fans, mostly during the week between June 25 to July 2. Typically, the awards are presented at the Canucks’ last home game of the regular season; however, since there was no “final” home game of the season they were awarded now.

Related: The Vancouver Canucks Lose Reid Boucher to the KHL: Why Did He Leave?

The Vancouver Canucks Players’ Awards

Award #1: Cyclone Taylor Trophy as the Vancouver Canucks MVP

The winner of the Canucks MVP, as voted on by fans, was goalie Jacob Markstrom. It was a good season for him, although it was also a difficult season. Although his father passed away during the season and Markstrom spent time on personal leave in Sweden, he still played well enough to be named to the NHL All-Star Game. He had a season’s record of 23-17-4 with a goals-against-average of 2.75.

Award #2: Daniel and Henrik Sedin Award for Community Leadership

 The first recipient of the just instituted Daniel and Henrik Sedin Award for Community Leadership was awarded to Alex Edler. During his career with the Canucks, Edler has truly made Vancouver his home and he’s made significant contributions to his community.

For example, Edler hosted the “Eagles Nest” program for the past four seasons. As part of the program, he provides four tickets and a post-game meet-and-greet after each home game to deserving kids and their families. 

Edler has also served as the Canucks “Hockey is for Everyone” ambassador for the past two seasons. The idea behind the Hockey is For Everyone is to promote positive social change and to foster compassion and make a more inclusive sport.

Edler has supported the Canucks for Kids Fund and Canucks community events for kids and local hockey. In addition, his family – without any fanfare – quietly supports other charities in the community. 

Award #3: Cyrus H. McLean Trophy – Leading Scorer on the Canucks

JT Miller was awarded the Cyrus H. McLean Trophy, which is presented to the Canucks leading point-scorer of the season. He led the team in scoring with 72 points (27 goals, 45 assists, for 72 points) in 69 games played. He also was presented the “Unsung Hero” (named the Fred J. Hume Award), as voted on by Canucks fans.

Award #4: Canucks “Most Exciting Player”

Elias Pettersson was presented the Pavel Bure Award as the Canucks “Most Exciting Player.”

Award #5: Canucks Best Defenceman

Quinn Hughes was voted to be winner of the Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy as the Canucks Best Defenceman. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


More News

More in Featured