Connect with us


Canadian Teams 2020 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy Candidates Named

Featured Video Play Icon

In a quick news item, the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association named its nominees for the 2020 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy on Tuesday. The Masterton Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the “player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.

The winner is selected by a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association after each team nominates one player in the competition. It is often awarded to a player who has come back from a career or even life-threatening illness or injury.

Related: What to Expect From Each Canadian NHL Team Heading Into Phase 2

Each Canadian Team’s Nominee

The nominees for each Canadian NHL teams are listed below:

Calgary Flames: Defenseman Mark Giordano

Edmonton Oilers: Connor McDavid

Montreal Canadiens: Shea Weber

Ottawa Senators: Bobby Ryan

Toronto Maple Leafs: Zach Hyman

Vancouver Canucks: Jacob Markstrom

Winnipeg Jets: Mark Letestu

Last Season’s Bill Masterson Award Winner’s Speech

Last Year’s Masterson Award Winner

The Award Winner for last season was goalie Robin Lehner, who then played for the New York Islanders. Lehner, fortunately, won his battle against alcohol and pill addiction and, at the time of the award, had been sober for more than a year while undergoing medical treatment for mental health issues.

Each of the Canadian players listed above faced and has – to one extent or another – overcome difficulties over the past season or two.

Related: Why the Edmonton Oilers Will Be a Force if this Post-Season Happens

Where Did the Bill Masterson Award Come From?

For those who don’t know much about the Bill Masterson Award, the trophy was first given out by the NHL Writers’ Association in 1968 to commemorate the late Bill Masterton, who was a player for the Minnesota North Stars. Masterson exhibited a high degree of the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. Sadly, Masterton died on January 15, 1968, after an injury sustained during a game.

The trophy was first awarded following the 1967-68 season.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

More News

More in Featured